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Capital Expansion Fees 
Transportation Capital Expansion Fees below are effective July 1, 2025 

 
Transportation Capital Expansion 
Fees (TCEFs) 

 
PURPOSE 
The purpose of the Transportation Capital 
Expansion Fees (TCEFs) is to defray capital 
costs directly related to development 
impacts. The TCEFs are commonly used by 
Colorado Counties and municipalities to 
help fund road infrastructure improvements 
required to maintain adequate levels of 
service on major road systems. TCEFs are 
one-time payments imposed on new 
development and they represent the new 
developments proportionate share of the 
cost of the growth-related road 
improvement needs. 

 
HOW CAN THE FEE BE USED 
TCEFs can be used on mainline public 
County Roads in unincorporated Larimer 
County. TCEFs can only be used for 
improvements that increases the capacity 
of the road system. TCEFs cannot be used 
for operations, maintenance, and 
replacement of infrastructure or correcting 
existing deficiencies. 

 
AUTHORITY 
Colorado is a “home rule” state and can 
collect impact fees under the home-rule 
authority granted in the Colorado 
Constitution. In addition, Colorado Statutes 
(29-20-104.5) specifically authorize 
statutory counties such as Larimer County 
to collect capital expansion fees. 

 
COUNTY CODES & REGULATIONS 
Fees are usually collected at the time of 
building permit issuance. New uses 
approved through Larimer County 
processes that do not trigger a building 
permit can also be assessed a fee. 
The County TCEF Study and associated 
Sections of the Land Use Code (Article 
15.1.6 & 15.1.7) can be found at, 
www.larimer.org/engineering/developm 
ent-review under the Capital Expansion Fee 
header. 

Transportation Capital Expansion Fees (TCEFs) 
Regional Regional transportation fees pay for improving selectcounty 

roads with regional significance in unincorporated Larimer 
County. 

County County transportation fees are used to expand the capacity 
of non-regional collector and arterial roads in 
unincorporated Larimer County. 

 
RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS 
*The following tiered fee schedule applies to building permits for new residential 
structures with an application date after June 30, 2018. For new residences 
constructed after this date, the TCEF will be applied to any new or additional 
finished living space square footage, including permits for additions, basement 
finishes, and detached buildings. In such cases, the total fee due is based on the 
incremental difference between the existing & proposed finished living square 
footage. The tiered fee structure will not be applied to additions or finishes of 
existing residential living space IF the original residential building permit was 
initiated on or before July 1, 2018. 
 

 

 Finished Living Space per 
Dwelling (Square Feet) 

Regional 

($) 

County 

($) 

TCEF 

($) 

 

900 or less (Square Feet) $268 $3,233 $3,501 

901-1300 (Square Feet) $376 $4,530 $4,906 

1301-1800 (Square Feet) $457 $5,455 $5,912 

1801-2400 (Square Feet) $535 $6,389 $6,924 

2401-3000 (Square Feet) $600 $7,168 $7,768 

3001-36 (Square Feet) $653 $7,806 $8,459 

3601 or more (Square Feet) $698 $8,339 $9,037 

 
COMMERCIAL BUILDING PERMITS 

 
* Commercial TCEFs are based on building use and total square feet (SF). 
They apply to new SF and to changes of use of existing SF. Payment of 
commercial TCEFs can be delayed to Certificate of Occupancy only under 
special circumstances. Use categories are as follows: 

• “Industrial” includes the processing or production of goods, along 
warehousing, transportation, communications, and utilities. 

• “Commercial” includes retail development and eating/drinking places, 
along with entertainment uses often located in a shopping center (e.g. 
movie theater). 

• “Office & Other Services” includes offices, health care and personal 
services, business services (e.g. banks) and lodging. Public and quasi- 
public buildings that provide educational, social assistance, or religious 
services are also included in this category. 

 
Commercial Use per 1,000 SF 
of Floor Area 

Regional 

($) 

County 

($) 

TCEF 

($) 

Industrial $165 $1,985 $2,150 

Commercial $702 $8,367 $9,069 

Office & Other Services $414 $4,923 $5,337 

                              See other side for Park, School & Fire Fees

http://www.larimer.org/engineering/development-review
http://www.larimer.org/engineering/development-review
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Frequently Asked Questions 
Q. What is a Transportation Capital Expansion 

Fee? 
A. Also known as an impact fee, a Capital Expansion 

Fee is a charge on new development to pay for 
the construction or expansion of capacity-related 
capital improvements to the County's road 
system. 
Article 15.1.6 & 15.1.7 of the Larimer County 
Land Use Code contains regulations pertaining 
to Capital Expansion Fees. 

 
Q. What is a Park In-Lieu of Fee? 
A. At the time of filing a preliminary plat for a 

residential land division, the developer may either 
dedicate land for parks or pay an In-Lieu Fee. 
Please refer to section 15.1.5 for a detailed 
explanation. 

 
Q. When do I have to pay impact fees? 
A. Fees must be collected at the time a building 

permit is issued. 
 

Q. Why are there different fees and how do I know 
which fees I will have to pay? 

A. Fees are calculated based on the type, size and 
location of the construction. When subdivisions are 
developed, capital facilities (schools, parks, roads) 
are needed to keep up with the new growth. 
A building permit technician can provide an 
estimate of fees. 

 
Q. I am moving a manufactured home to my vacant 

land. Do I owe any fees? 
A. Yes, mobile homes are required to get a building permit 

and fees are collected when the permit is issued. 
 

Q. I own a commercial building; will my tenant owe 
Capital Expansion Fees when they pull a 
permit? 

A. Yes, the commercial building pays a fee when a 
permit for the shell is issued. When each 
tenant-finish permit is issued fees are calculated 
based on the use and total square footage. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee for a new cabin 

or if I convert a cabin to a single family (SF) 
home? 

A. The fee for a new cabin is based on the total 
finished living square footage. Converting a cabin 
to a SF home will not trigger a TCEF if no new 
square footage is being added. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee for an addition to 

my home or for finishing my basement or 
detached building to a living space area? 

A. The TCEF is not applicable if the permit for the 
original house was applied for before, July 1, 
2018. The TCEF does apply for all finishes to 
living space when the original house permit is 
dated on, or after, July 1, 2018. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee if I convert a 

utility building to habitable or living space? 
A. Yes, the fee is based on the total finished living 

square footage

 

 
Community Park Land Dedication/In-Lieu Fee 
Community Park In-Lieu Fees are collected for residential development 
inside Growth Management Areas of Fort Collins, Loveland, Berthoud 
and the Estes Valley. 

The fees are distributed to towns and cities in Larimer County to be used 
for land acquisition. 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS 

 FTC LVLD BER ESTES 

Single Family Detached $669 $590 $668 $303 

Single-Family Attached $522 $460 $520 $235 

Duplex $501 $443 $500 $228 

Multi-Family $435 $333 $435 $198 

Mobile Home $516 $455 $515 $232 

Regional Park Land Dedication/In-Lieu Fee 
The Regional Park In-Lieu Fee is collected in all areas of 
unincorporated Larimer County, including Growth Management Areas 
(GMA) and the Estes Valley to purchase land for regional parks. 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS Fee 
 

Single-Family Detached $1,402 
Single-Family Attached $1,094 
Mobile Home  $1,080 
Duplex (each unit) $1,052 
Multi-Family (each unit) $912 

For information on Park Fees contact: 
Larimer County Parks & Open Lands 
1800 S. County Rd 31 
Loveland, CO 80537 
970-679-4570 

 

School fees are collected and distributed to school districts for the 
acquisition of land. This fee is paid at the time a building permit is 
issued. 
School District Fee 
Poudre School District PR-1    $ 1,710 
Thompson RJ2    $ 1,382 
Park R-3 (per lot, fee collected at final plat) $ 8 

For information on School Fees contact: 

Larimer County Planning 
200 West Oak Street, 3rd floor 
Fort Collins, CO 80521 
970-498-7683 

 

Many Colorado fire districts now charge impact fees on new residential and 
commercial development to fund facilities needed to keep up with growth. Larimer 
County will assess and transmit fire impact fees on building permits for new 
development in our unincorporated county area of these Fire Districts: 
 Berthoud Fire Protection District - berthoudfire.org 

 Estes Valley Fire Protection District - estesvalleyfire.org/plan-reviewand-inspections 
 

Front Range Fire Rescue - frfr.colorado.gov 

 Loveland Fire Rescue Authority - lfra.org/lfrabegins-collecting-capital-expansion-impact-fees-on-new-construction 

 Poudre Fire Authority - poudre-fire.org 

 Windsor-Severance Fire Rescue - ww.wsfr.us 

 Wellington Fire Protection District - wfpd.org 

https://berthoudfire.org/
https://www.estesvalleyfire.org/plan-reviewand-inspections
https://frfr.colorado.gov/
https://lfra.org/lfrabegins-collecting-capital-expansion-impact-fees-on-new-construction
https://www.poudre-fire.org/
http://www.wsfr.us/
http://www.wfpd.org/
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