## **IMPORTANT PHONE NUMBERS**

Larimer County Sheriff 970-498-5301

Poudre Fire Authority (970) 221-6570

**Loveland Fire and Rescue Authority** (970) 962-2536

**Berthoud Fire Protection District** (970) 532-2264

Estes Valley Fire Protection District (970) 557-0900

Wellington Fire Protection District (970) 568-3232

Front Range Fire Rescue (970)-587-4464

ALL APPLICANTS MUST NOTIFY
THE APPROPRIATE
COMMUNICATION CENTER, LISTED
ON THE APPROVED PERMIT, PRIOR
TO EACH BURN.



LARIMER COUNTY
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND ENVIRONMENT







Burn Permits can be accessed at larimer.org/burnpermit





1525 Blue Spruce Drive, Fort Collins, CO 80524 (970) 498-6775 ● larimer.org/health



## **AIR QUALITY**

Most outdoor burning in Larimer County requires a permit signed by both the Larimer County Department of Health & Environment (LCDHE) and the Fire Department. The fire department evaluates applications for potential fire safety issues, while LCDHE evaluates applications for air quality issues that can impact human health.

Open burning in Larimer County is regulated by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Air Pollution Control Division and the Larimer County Department of Health and Environment under Colorado Air Quality Control Commission's Regulations # 1 and # 9.

# **SLASH BURNING**

Slash burning in the foothills and mountains (>6000 feet) **MUST** take place only with 3 or more inches of snow cover. Permits will be processed October 1st for a season that occurs from October 1 to May 1.

Open burning without a permit is illegal and can result in fines of up to \$10,000 per day. For info go to Colorado.gov/cdphe



## **HOW TO GET A BURN PERMIT**

- Access the burn permit application at larimer.org/burnpermit or call (970) 498-6775 for assistance. Permit process can be tracked at the same link as well.
- 2. LCDHE will evaluate and process the application. It will be sent to your local fire authority for their final approval also. You will get the Permit via an email attachment if you provide an email address, or it is mailed via the USPS.
- 3. Your local fire authority has final approval determination on the application based on any fire restrictions.
- 4. Prior to ignition on the day of the burn, call the communications dispatch center on your approved burn permit.
- 5. Keep a copy of your burn permit on site when you are burning. A valid permit will have authorization from both the LCDHE and the fire department.

#### **DO NOT BURN**

- Routine yard and garden clean-up waste
- Structures
- Construction debris
- Household garbage
- Materials that produce excessive smoke (plastic, wire, tires, wet grass, leaves, cattails, etc.)
- Commercial/business waste
- Stumps

#### **SAFETY GUIDELINES**

- Pile branches in open areas away from standing timber and structures.
- Piles should be no larger than 8-10 feet in diameter at the base and 6 feet high.
- Winds must be less than 10 mph.
   Check the weather forecast to avoid burning during high winds or extremely dry conditions.
- Always have water, a rake, and a shovel available.
- Fires attended by a non-impaired adult.
- All burning must be extinguished by nightfall.

\*For burns over 6,000 feet, special guidelines apply (see slash burning).