

Building Contractor Licensing

Building Department 200 W. Oak Street 3rd Floor Fort Collins, CO 80521

ort Collins, CO 805

970-498-7700

Fax: 970-498-7667 www.larimer.org/building/ contractor_licensing_resolution.pdf

Effective September 1, 2009, building contractors are required to be licensed to do work in unincorporated Larimer County.

The Contractor Licensing Program is created to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of unincorporated Larimer County.

The licensing process requires that building contractors demonstrate they are competent in the general construction trades or practices in which they are engaged, and that they maintain current insurance coverage.

License Fees and Liability Insurance

Type of License	License Fee	Minimum Single Limit Insurance
Class A	\$150	\$1,000,000
Class B	\$125	\$1,000,000
Class C	\$100	\$1,000,000
Special Single Trade	\$75	\$300,000
Roofers	\$75	\$300,000
Mechanical	\$75	\$300,000
Electrical	exempt	
Elevator/Conveyance	exempt	
Mobile Home Installer	exempt	
Plumbing	exempt	

License Issuance

Within seven (7) business days after a complete license application is submitted, the Chief Building Official will issue a license, a provisional license, or a written statement of license denial.

License Term

Licenses are effective for twenty-four (24) calendar months after the date of issuance.

License Re-application

Contractors holding licenses may apply for a new license within three (3) calendar months prior to the expiration of the license.

Unresolved Building Code Violations

Contractors holding a valid County license who apply for a new license must resolve any sign code or building code violations older than 90 days.

Types of Contractor Licenses

- General Contractor
- Mechanical Trade Contractor
- Roofing Contractor
- Specialized Trade Contractor

License Application Forms

In person	200 W. Oak Street, 3rd Floor Fort Collins, CO 80522 Mon – Fri 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
By fax	To request a faxed copy of the application call 970-498-7667
Online	www.larimer.org/building

How Do I Get a Contractor License?

License application requirements:

- 1. Submit a complete license application form to the Larimer County Chief Building Official
- 2. Pay application fee (cash or check)
- 3. Provide valid proof of US citizenship accompanied by a valid form of photo ID
- 4. Certify that you will employ only building subcontractors and workers who have demonstrated to the company a lawful presence in the US
- 5. Provide a valid and current license issued by another county or municipality in the state of Colorado that was obtained by receiving a passing grade on a nationally recognized examination approved by the International Code Council and accepted by the industry or
- Achieve a passing grade on the International Code Council (ICC) exam related to the type of license being applied for (or its nationally recognized equivalent as determined and approved by the Building Official). No exam is required for Special Trades only.
- Provide proof of three (3) successfully completed projects or proof of two (2) years experience in your specific field.
- 8. Provide proof of current insurance coverage
 - Workers' Compensation Insurance as required by the State of Colorado
 - If self-employed, see CRS State Statue definitions 8-40-202
 - General Liability Insurance provided on ISO Form 1998. Proof of insurance shall be accompanied by Certificate of Insurance listing Larimer County Building Department as a Certificate Holder requiring ten (10) days notice for 'NON-PAYMENT OF PREMIUM' and 30 days advance written notice of policy changes or cancellation

Certificate of Insurance must be signed by an authorized agent of the Insurance Company

In the event the required insurance is revoked or cancelled the contractor license is revoked upon receipt of notice.

The complete Building Contractor Licensing regulation is available online at www.larimer.org/building/contractor_licensing_resolution.pdf or in the Larimer County Building Department.

Types of Contractor Licenses

Class A – This license entitles the holder to contract for the construction, alteration, tenant finish or repair of any type of structure permitted by the International Building Code or the International Residential Code. ICC Exam #W11 or #F11

Class B – This license entitles the holder to contract for construction, alteration, tenant finish or repair of commercial buildings and single-family or multi-family dwelling buildings, not exceeding three stories in height as permitted by the International Building Code or the International Residential Code. ICC Exam #W12 or #F12

Class C – This license entitles the holder to contract for construction, alteration, or repair of one and two family dwellings and accessory buildings, as permitted by the International Building Code or the International Residential Code. ICC Exam #W13 or #F13

Mechanical – This license entitles the holder to provide any work in the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning fields as permitted by the International Mechanical Code, International Fuel Gas Code or the International Residential Code.

ICC Exam – Commercial #W29 or #F29 Residential#W32 or #F32

Gas Pipers – This license entitles the holder to perform any gas piping work as permitted by the International Fuel Gas Code or the International Residential Code.

ICC Exam -#N33, W29/F29 or W32/F32

Roofers – This license entitles the holder to perform any work in the roofing, re-roofing, roof insulation, and roof drainage fields as permitted by the international building code, international residential code and international plumbing code. ICC Exam #W14 or #F14

Special – This license entitles the holder to perform work in one or more specialized trade such as bridges, decks/fences/sunrooms, demolition, detached structures (barns, garages, gazebos, greenhouses, sheds) fireplace/woodstove, manufactured home setup, pools/spas, siding, signs, solar, tower/wind generator as permitted by the International Building Code , the International Residential Code or Larimer County Land Use Code.

Frequently Asked Questions

- **Q** Who is required to be licensed?
- A If you are doing work on a building which requires a building permit and you are not a homeowner doing work on your own home, then you need be to licensed by the County or the State. A County license is not required if you're a plumber, electrician, elevator installer, or manufactured home installer.
- **Q** How long does it take to process my application and get a license?
- A Within seven (7) business days after a complete license application is submitted, the Chief Building Official will issue a license, a provisional license, or a written statement of license denial.
- **Q** Do I need a contractor license to build or remodel a house on my own property in unincorporated Larimer County?
- A No, a person who acts as the contractor for the construction of a new residential dwelling on their own property (no more than once within any 24-month period), or for additions or alterations to their own home does not require a contractor's license.
- **Q** I'm a plumber, do I need a Contractor License from Larimer County?
- A No, plumbers are licensed by the state of Colorado and plumbing work on most projects will be covered by the general contractor's license. However, if you do work which is not covered by the general contractor, such as boiler replacement, you must obtain a permit from the County. You will also need to show us your current master plumbing license and business name license at that time.
- **Q** I work for a flooring company, do I need a contractor license to install flooring?
- A If you are doing work such as, painting, papering, tiling, carpeting, cabinets, countertops and similar finish work, there is no building permit required and therefore, no contractor license required.

Contractor Licensing Exams

 ICC International Code Council Contractor/Trades Licensing

ICC Reservation Center 1-800-275-8301

For paper-and-pencil testing, you may obtain an application by contacting ICC. Phone 1-888-422-7233 Web www.iccsafe.org/contractor

• Pearson Vue Exam Schedule

For computer-based testing, contact Pearson VUE. To schedule an exam, you will need the 3-digit exam number (shown on the inside front cover under Types of Contractor Licenses).

1-877-234-6082

Register online www.pearsonvue.com/icc

[Prepayment is required for all examinations]

Testing Locations

To Schedule Exam

Colorado Springs VUE 1045 Garden of Gods Rd Unit F Colorado Springs, CO 80907

Denver VUE

5340 S. Quebec St., Suite 115 N Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Greeley VUE

5754 West 11th Street #203 Greeley, CO 80634

Wheat Ridge VUE

4251 Kipling Street, Suite 100 Wheat Ridge, CO 80033



Building Department 200 W. Oak Street 3rd Floor Fort Collins, CO 80521

970-498-7700 www.larimer.org/building