SPECIAL TRANSPORT PERMIT FEES

By Dimension Limits*

Height: Any vehicle, loaded or unloaded, which exceeds the Maximum Height of 14 feet 6 inches.

Width: The total outside width of any vehicle or load which exceeds the Maximum Width of 8 feet, excluding mirrors or safety devices, measured at the widest point

Length: Overall length of any vehicle or load, in any configuration, that exceeds the Maximum Length of 70 feet.

<u>Longer Vehicle Combinations (LVCs):</u> Larimer County issues Special Transport Permits for LVSs using State of Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS 42-4-505). Haulers are required to obtain a copy of the Larimer County Bridge Weight Limit Map, and to set their haul routes to avoid crossing load posted bridges. Weight restriction signs are posted as appropriate on load restricted bridges. Additional information about Colorado legal vehicle dimensions and weight limits can be found on CDOT's web site.

OVER SIZE PERMIT FEES	
Exceeds one dimension only	\$25.00 per trip
Exceeds more than one dimension, but is not over 19 feet high, 20 feet wide or 70 feet long	\$30.00 per trip
Exceeds more than one dimension, and is over 10 feet high, 20 feet wide or 70 feet long	\$35.00 per trip
Longer Vehicle Combination (LVC)	\$240.00 per trip

Weight:

Any vehicle with 2 axles and a maximum Gross Vehicle Weight greater than 36,000 lbs. Total weight must be distributed so that no one axle exceeds 20,000 lbs.

Any vehicle with 3 axles and a maximum Gross Vehicle Weight greater than 54,000 lbs. Total weight must be distributed so that no one axle exceeds 20,000 lbs and no tandem axle exceeds 36,000 lbs.

Any combination vehicle/trailer with a maximum Gross Vehicle Weight greater than 85,000 lbs. Total weight must be distributed so that no one axle exceeds 20,000 lbs and no tandem axles exceed 36,000 lbs and no tandem axles exceed 54,000 lbs.

OVER WEIGHT PERMIT FEES	
Vehicle w/2 Axles, Over 36,000 lbs	\$30.00 per trip
Vehicle w/3 Axels, Over 54,000 lbs	\$30.00 per trip
Vehicle/Trailer Combo, Over 85,000 lbs	\$30.00 per trip
Vehicle Over Weight Limits and Over Other Dimension(s) Limit	\$35.00 per trip
Vehicle in Excess of 130,000 lbs or	\$500.00 per trip
If Trip is under 10 miles	\$50.00/mile per trip

Annual Fleet Permit:

The annual fleet permit is issued mainly to companies that haul heavy equipment, delivery services and trash haulers. It is not intended for the home (structure) moving industry.

ANNUAL FLEET PERMIT FEES	
Standard Fleet (permit covers all vehicles)	\$150.00
Heavy Haulers – 97,000 lbs	\$150.00
Heavy Haulers – 110,000 lbs	\$250.00

*NOTE: These limitations do not address all the factors considered in processing a Special Transportation Permit. These factors can be complicated and may require changing your planned route.