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Capital Expansion Fees 
Transportation Capital Expansion Fees below are effective July 1, 2023 

 

Transportation Capital Expansion 

Fees (TCEFs) 

 
PURPOSE 

The purpose of the Transportation Capital 
Expansion Fees (TCEFs) is to defray capital 
costs directly related to development 
impacts. The TCEFs are commonly used by 
Colorado Counties and municipalities to 
help fund road infrastructure improvements 
required to maintain adequate levels of 
service on major road systems. TCEFs are 
one-time payments imposed on new 

development and they represent the new 
developments proportionate share of the 
cost of the growth-related road 
improvement needs. 

 
HOW CAN THE FEE BE USED 

TCEFs can be used on mainline public 
County Roads in unincorporated Larimer 
County. TCEFs can only be used for 
improvements that increases the capacity 
of the road system. TCEFs cannot be used 
for operations, maintenance, and 
replacement of infrastructure or correcting 

existing deficiencies. 

 
AUTHORITY 

Colorado is a “home rule” state and can 
collect impact fees under the home-rule 
authority granted in the Colorado 
Constitution. In addition, Colorado Statutes 

(29-20-104.5) specifically authorize 
statutory counties such as Larimer County 
to collect capital expansion fees. 

 
COUNTY CODES & REGULATIONS 

Fees are usually collected at the time of 
building permit issuance. New uses 

approved through Larimer County 
processes that do not trigger a building 
permit can also be assessed a fee. 

The County TCEF Study and the associated 
Sections of the Land Use Code (sections 

15.1.6 & 15.1.7) can be found at, 

www.larimer.org/engineering/developm 
ent-review under the Capital Expansion Fee 
header. 

Transportation Capital Expansion Fees (TCEFs) 

Regional Regional transportation fees pay for improving select county 

roads with regional significance in unincorporated Larimer 
County. 

County County transportation fees are used to expand the capacity 

of non-regional collector and arterial roads in 
unincorporated Larimer County. 

 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS 
 

 
Finished Living Space per 
Dwelling (Square Feet) 

Regional 

($) 

County 

($) 

TCEF 

($) 

900 or less (Square Feet)  $233   $2,813  $3,046 

901-1300 (Square Feet)  $327   $3,945  $4,272 

1301-1800 (Square Feet)  $396   $4,750  $5,146 

1801-2400 (Square Feet)  $464   $5,561  $6,025 

2401-3000 (Square Feet)  $520   $6,240  $6,760 

3001-36 (Square Feet)  $564   $6,794  $7,358 

3601 or more (Square Feet)  $605  $7,261  $7,866 

 
COMMERCIAL BUILDING PERMITS 

 

* Commercial TCEFs are based on building use and total square feet (SF). 
They apply to new SF and to changes of use of existing SF. Payment of 
commercial TCEFs can be delayed to Certificate of Occupancy only under 
special circumstances. Use categories are as follows: 

• “Industrial” includes the processing or production of goods, along 
warehousing, transportation, communications, and utilities. 

• “Commercial” includes retail development and eating/drinking places, 

along with entertainment uses often located in a shopping center (e.g. 
movie theater). 

• “Office & Other Services” includes offices, health care and personal 
services, business services (e.g. banks) and lodging. Public and quasi- 
public buildings that provide educational, social assistance, or religious 
services are also included in this category. 

 

Commercial Use per 1,000 SF 
of Floor Area 

Regional 

($) 

County 

($) 

TCEF 

($) 

Industrial  $144  $1,730 $1,874 

Commercial  $610  $7,285  $7,895 

Office & Other Services  $360   $4,286  $4,646 

 
See other side for Park, School, & Fire Fees 

Schools Parks Fire Roads 

*The following tiered fee schedule applies to building permits for new 
residential structures with an application date after June 30, 2018. For new 
residences constructed after this date, the TCEF will be applied to any new or 
additional finished living space square footage, including permits for 
additions, basement finishes, and detached buildings. In such cases, the total 
fee due is based on the incremental difference between the existing & 
proposed finished living square footage. The tiered fee structure will not be 
applied to additions or finishes of existing residential living space IF the 
original residential building permit was initiated on or before July 1, 2018. 

  

http://www.larimer.org/engineering/development-review
http://www.larimer.org/engineering/development-review


 

 

 

 

 
 

Roads Fire Parks Schools 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
Q. What is a Transportation Capital Expansion 

Fee? 

A. Also known as an impact fee, a Capital Expansion 
Fee is a charge on new development to pay for 
the construction or expansion of capacity-related 
capital improvements to the County's road 
system. 

Section 15.1.6 & 15.1.7 of the Larimer County 

Land Use Code contains regulations pertaining 

to Capital Expansion Fees. 

 

Q. What is a Park In-Lieu of Fee? 

A. At the time of filing a preliminary plat for a 

residential land division, the developer may either 

dedicate land for parks or pay an In-Lieu Fee. 

Please refer to section 15.1.5 for a detailed 

explanation. 

 

Q. When do I have to pay impact fees? 

A. Fees must be collected at the time a building 
permit is issued. 

 
Q. Why are there different fees and how do I know 

which fees I will have to pay? 

A. Fees are calculated based on the type, size and 

location of the construction. When subdivisions are 

developed, capital facilities (schools, parks, roads) 
are needed to keep up with the new growth. 

A building permit technician can provide an 

estimate of fees. 

 
Q. I am moving a manufactured home to my vacant 

land. Do I owe any fees? 

A. Yes, mobile homes are required to get a building permit 
and fees are collected when the permit is issued. 

 
Q. I own a commercial building; will my tenant owe 

Capital Expansion Fees when they pull a 
permit? 

A. Yes, the commercial building pays a fee when a 
permit for the shell is issued. When each 
tenant-finish permit is issued fees are calculated 
based on the use and total square footage. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee for a new cabin 

or if I convert a cabin to a single family (SF) 
home? 

A. The fee for a new cabin is based on the total 
finished living square footage. Converting a cabin 
to a SF home will not trigger a TCEF if no new 
square footage is being added. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee for an addition to 

my home or for finishing my basement or 
detached building to a living space area? 

A. The TCEF is not applicable if the permit for the 
original house was applied for before July 1, 
2018. The TCEF does apply for all finishes to 
living space when the original house permit is 
dated on, or after, July 1, 2018. 

 
Q. Will I owe a capital expansion fee if I convert a 

utility building to habitable or living space? 

A. Yes, the fee is based on the total finished living 

square footage.  

 

 

 
Community Park Land Dedication/In-Lieu Fee 

Community Park In-Lieu Fees are collected for residential development 
inside Growth Management Areas of Fort Collins, Loveland, Berthoud 
and the Estes Valley. 

The fees are distributed to towns and cities in Larimer County to be used 
for land acquisition. 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS 
 FTC LVLD BER ESTES 

Single-Family Detached $669 $590 $668 $303 

Single-Family Attached $522 $460 $520 $235 

Duplex  $501 $443 $500 $228 

Multi-Family  $435 $333 $435 $198 

Mobile Home  $516 $455 $515 $232 

 

 
Regional Park Land Dedication/In-Lieu Fee 

The Regional Park In-Lieu Fee is collected in all areas of 
unincorporated Larimer County, including Growth Management Areas 
(GMA) and the Estes Valley to purchase land for regional parks. 

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING PERMITS Fee 
 

Single-Family Detached $1052 

Single-Family Attached $821 

Mobile Home  $810 

Duplex (each unit)  $526 

Multi-Family (each unit) $684 

For information on Park Fees contact: 

Larimer County Parks & Open Lands 
1800 S. County Rd 31 
Loveland, CO 80537 

970-679-4570 

 

 
School fees are collected and distributed to school districts for the 
acquisition of land. This fee is paid at the time a building permit is 
issued. 

School District Fee 
Poudre School District PR-1    $ 1710 

Thompson RJ2    $ 1382 

Park R-3 (per lot, fee collected at final plat) $ 8 

For information on School Fees contact: 

Larimer County Planning 
200 West Oak Street, 3rd floor 
Fort Collins, CO 80521 

970-498-7683 

 
 
Many Colorado fire districts now charge impact fees on new residential and 
commercial development to fund facilities needed to keep up with growth. Larimer 
County will assess and transmit fire impact fees on building permits for new 
development in our unincorporated county area of these Fire Districts: 

➢ Berthoud Fire Protection District - berthoudfire.org 

➢ Estes Valley Fire Protection District - estesvalleyfire.org/plan-reviewand-inspections 

➢ Front Range Fire Rescue - frfr.colorado.gov 

➢ Loveland Fire Rescue Authority - lfra.org/lfrabegins-collecting-capital-expansion-impact-fees-on-new-construction 

➢ Poudre Fire Authority - poudre-fire.org 

➢ Windsor-Severance Fire Rescue -  ww.wsfr.us 

➢ Wellington Fire Protection District - wfpd.org 
 

https://berthoudfire.org/
https://www.estesvalleyfire.org/plan-reviewand-inspections
https://frfr.colorado.gov/
https://lfra.org/lfrabegins-collecting-capital-expansion-impact-fees-on-new-construction
https://www.poudre-fire.org/
http://www.wsfr.us/
http://www.wfpd.org/

