COVID-19 Info : Data | Testing | Vaccine | Guidance     Phone System Update

Traducir al español
Photo of Bob Overbeck, Larimer County Assessor

Bob Overbeck


The Colorado Senior Property Tax Exemption and Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption are again available to those Larimer County property owners who qualify for these programs.

The deadline to apply for the Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption is July 1, 2021. The deadline to apply for the Colorado Senior Property Tax Exemption is July 15, 2021, and applications for both programs must be postmarked by those dates.  Larimer County administers and accepts the Senior Exemption but does not approve them. The Veteran Exemption must be submitted to the Colorado Department of Military and Veteran Affairs --- instructions are here --- and not the Larimer County Assessor’s Office.

Larimer County Assessor Bob Overbeck said the Colorado Legislature has again funded the two programs. For those who qualify for the exemptions, 50% of the first $200,000 in actual value --- $100,000 --- of the primary residence is exempted from property tax. These two exemptions were funded for 2021 and are payable for 2022 from the State of Colorado.

Once an exemption is filed and approved by the Larimer County Assessor,  it remains in effect unless a disqualifying event occurs.

Typical recipients can save $600 and possibly more, with over 18,000 seniors and almost 300 disabled veterans receiving this tax credit in Larimer County. The Senior Exemption is also known as the Homestead Exemption, approved by Colorado voters in 2000.

The Senior Exemption is available to those who:

  • Are at least 65 years of age before January 1 of the year of application,
  • Owned their home for at least 10 consecutive years, before January 1,
  • Occupied their home as a primary residence for at least 10 consecutive years before January 1.

The Veteran Exemption is available to those who:

  • Sustained a service-connected disability while serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States,
  • Were honorably discharged, and owned and occupied the property before January 1 and,
  • Were rated by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs as one hundred percent “permanent and total” disabled. VA unemployability awards do not meet the requirement for determining an applicant’s eligibility.

To apply for either exemption or get more information, visit the Larimer County Assessor Exemption web page at or contact the Larimer County Assessor’s Office at 970-498-7050.

Published on: 
Thursday, June 24, 2021 - 12:32pm
Contact Details:

Bob Overbeck, Larimer County Assessor, 970-498-7050

I Want To

Larimer County, Colorado

200 W. Oak Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Map of Facilities

Connect with Us

Larimer County on Facebook Larimer County on Twitter Larimer County on YouTube Larimer County on LinkedIn Instagram Email Subscriptions
Email Subscriptions
Transparency | Accessibility | Security
Legal Disclaimers
Website Feedback Website Feedback
Flag Status:   US FlagFullColorado FlagFull
Top of Page