COVID-19 Information  Fire Restrictions  LC Flooding

Traducir al español
Photo of Bob Overbeck, Larimer County Assessor

Bob Overbeck

Assessor

Two popular tax exemption program application deadlines are approaching for property owners in Larimer County.

Larimer County Assessor Bob Overbeck reminds homeowners of the deadline to apply for Colorado Senior Property Tax Exemption, and the Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption. 

The deadline to apply for the Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption is July 1, 2022. The deadline to apply for the Colorado Senior Property Tax Exemption is July 15, 2022, and applications for both programs must be postmarked by those dates.

Larimer County administers and accepts the Senior Exemption but does not approve them. The Veteran Exemption must be submitted to the Colorado Department of Military and Veteran Affairs --- instructions are here --- https://www.larimer.gov/assessor/exemptions and not the Larimer County Assessor’s Office.

This year, the Colorado Legislature has funded both programs for the 2022 tax year, payable in 2023. A credit will be applied to the homeowners' 2023 property tax statement. For those who qualify for the exemptions, 50% of the first $200,000 in actual value --- $100,000 --- of the primary residence is exempted from property tax, said Larimer County Assessor Bob Overbeck. Once an exemption is filed with the Larimer County Assessor,  it remains in effect unless a disqualifying event occurs.

Typical recipients can save $500 and possibly more, with nearly 18,000 seniors and 350 disabled veterans receiving this tax credit in Larimer County. The Senior Exemption is also known as the Homestead Exemption, approved by Colorado voters in 2000.

The Senior Exemption is available to those who:

  • Are at least 65 years of age before January 1 of the year of application,
  • Owned their home for at least 10 consecutive years, before January 1,
  • Occupied their home as a primary residence for at least 10 consecutive years before January 1.

The Veteran Exemption is available to those who:

  • Sustained a service-connected disability while serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States,
  • Were honorably discharged, and owned and occupied the property before January 1 and,
  • Were rated by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs as one hundred percent “permanent and total” disabled. VA unemployability awards do not meet the requirement for determining an applicant’s eligibility.

 

To apply for either exemption or get more information, visit the Larimer County Assessor Exemption web page at https://www.larimer.gov/assessor/exemptions or contact the Larimer County Assessor’s Office at 970-498-7050.

Published on: 
Thursday, June 30, 2022 - 1:37pm
Contact Details:

Bob Overbeck, Larimer County Assessor, 970-498-7050, overbebc@co.larimer.co.us

I Want To

Larimer County, Colorado

200 W. Oak Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Map of Facilities

Connect with Us

Larimer County on Facebook Larimer County on Twitter Larimer County on YouTube Larimer County on LinkedIn Instagram Email Subscriptions
Email Subscriptions
Transparency | Accessibility | Security
Legal Disclaimers
Website Feedback Website Feedback
Weather Forecast & Alerts
Flag Status:   US FlagHalfColorado FlagHalf
randomness