The Larimer Emergency Telephone Authority (LETA) was created on November 14, 1990, through an Intergovernmental Agreement entered into by Larimer county; the towns of Berthoud, Estes Park, Timnath, and Wellington the cities of Fort Collins and Loveland; the Park, Poudre and Thompson Vallely hospital districts; and ten fire protection districts located in Larimer County. Since that time, the towns of Windsor and Johnstown have joined in the LETA. The creation of emergency telephone authorities was authorized by the Colorado Legislature in 1981. That legislation authorized governing bodies in Colorado counties to join together by intergovernmental agreement to provide for emergency telephone services countywide. Pursuant to the Intergovernmental Agreement, LETA is responsible for the administration and operation of the "E-911" emergency telephone service in Larimer County.

LETA is governed by a board consisting of seven members, including two representing each of the cities of Fort Collins and Loveland, two representing the towns of Berthoud, Estes Park, Johnstown, Timnath, Wellington, and Windsor, one representing the hospital districts in the county, one representing the fire districts, and one member representing Larimer County. Larimer County appoints members to the LETA Board upon the recommendations of the participating entities. Members are appointed for two-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms.

In accordance with Colorado law, LETA is funded through surcharges which are assessed monthly on citizens maintaining hard wire and wireless telephone service in the County.

Since its creation in 1990, LETA has funded and overseen the installation of the Enhanced 911 Telephone System countywide. This system enables dispatchers in the various public service answering points (PSAPs) to identify and dispatch emergency assistance upon the receipt of a 911 call even when the caller is unable to identify himself or the location of the emergency. LETA is currently in the process of implementing a similar system for wireless telephone users. In conjunction with implementing the Enhanced 911 service in Larimer county, LETA has also played an instrumental role in upgrading the emergency medical dispatch system which allows dispatcher to provide medical assistance to emergency callers prior to the arrival of emergency personnel.

Number of Members: 
Term Length: 
2 Years
Organization Type: 
External Board Website: 
Board Bylaws: 

The LETA Board meets bi-monthly in the Board Room of the Authority offices located at 380 N. Wilson Ave, Loveland.

The 911 Board Regular Session is normally held on the 1st Wednesday of even-numbered months (barring any unforeseen circumstances), and begins promptly at 9:00 a.m.

For meeting agendas, minutes, reports and the list of current board members, visit LETA 911.

Board Members

Name Term Start Term End
Steve Charles
Fire Chief, Berthoud Fire
Dan Coldiron
Chief Information Officer, City of Loveland
Tim Keeton
Undersheriff, Larimer County
Wes Kufeld
Police Chief, Town of Estes Park
Randy Lesher
Chief, Thompson Valley EMS
Rena Martinez
Director of Information Services, Fort Collins Police Services
Jason Meisner
Police Captain, Colorado State University
Commissioner Liaison: