To foster and support cooperative and cost effective regional emergency medical trauma systems development.

Who We Are
The Northeast Colorado Regional EMS/Trauma Advisory Council is a consortium of 9 counties  EMS and Trauma services in Northeast Colorado; Jackson, Larimer, Weld, Morgan, Logan, Washington, Phillips, Sedgwick and Yuma Counties. Member counties appoint representatives according to guidance by statute and the bylaws of the Northeast Colorado RETAC board.

Board Responsibilities and Duties
Member counties each hold two seats on the Board of Directors, a facility position and a pre-hospital position representing the discipline in their county to which they are appointed. Board members have the responsibility to disseminate information in their respective county and be a liaison between the providers of care in their county to the Board of Directors, Regional Coordinator and the Colorado Dept. of Public Health & Environment. Regular attendance is required and can be achieved through online attendance as well as physical. 

Appointment Process
People wishing to serve as a board member should contact their respective Board of County Commissioners for consideration of appointment. Qualifications include a working knowledge of the emergency medical and trauma systems (EMTS) statutes, rules and policies for the positions they wish to be appointed. Staggered two year terms expire in July of either an even numbered or odd numbered year.

What is a RETAC?
RETAC stands for Regional EMS/Trauma Advisory Council. RETAC's were formed by Colorado Revised Statute in 2001. The Northeast Colorado RETAC was formed through a coalition of County Commissioners, Trauma Centers and EMS agencies in the fall/winter of 2000-2001. A series of meetings were held with the elected officials who determined the representative counties. Historical working relationships were considered along with patient flow patterns to determine what would be best for the patient and would provide a continuity of operations with the combining of existing EMS Regional systems development, (High Plains Regional EMS Council) and Trauma Systems Regional Development. 

For more information, visit Northeast Colorado RETAC or contact Jeffery R. Schanhals at ncretac@ncretac.org

Number of Members: 
Term Length: 
2 Years
Organization Type: 

Meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of the month at the Thompson Valley EMS building, 4480 Clydesdale Pkwy, Loveland.

Visit Northeast Colorado RETAC to view meeting agendas, minutes and the current list of board members.

Board Members

Name Term Start Term End
James Robinson
Commissioner Liaison: 
Staff Liaison: