Important Info About Records Requests

If you are seeking LCSO reports categorized as...

  • felony, misdemeanor, or DUI (Driving Under the Influence), and
  • occurring on or after 12/01/2019, and
  • where the case status is "charges filed", and
  • with the case still active in the court system...

You MUST make the request to the Larimer County District Attorney's Office as we are working with them to streamline the legal process concerning records requests.

The Larimer County Sheriff's Office Records Department is responsible for the retention of Sheriff Records for LCSO; as well as the release of information to the public and all other agencies and businesses.

All requests for records must be submitted on a Sheriff's Office Records Request form, filled out completely, and the pecuniary statement signed per Colorado Revised Statute 24-72-305.5. The request form must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee which covers the search for the records. 

*Please note we will not process any requests until both the research fee and the request form have been received* In addition, a processing fee of $0.25 per page will be charged for reports, computer services searches, and medical or inmate files. Costs for reproduction have been approved under CRS 24-72-306 and set by Larimer County Resolution 07012008R004. 

Search fees must be paid for in advance by cash, check, money order or credit card.  We currently accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. A processing fee of $0.75 and a convenience fee of 2.25% will be added to all credit card transactions. Victims of a crime may receive one copy of their report without charge.

The completed report can be mailed, faxed, emailed, or picked up in person at the Larimer County Sheriff's Office.

Determination of release of records will be made in accordance with Colorado Revised Statutes and LCSO Records Release Policy. Records are not released immediately upon request, and depending on the type of record requested, can take several days. Please submit your request form as early as possible to avoid delays.   Reports are not generally available for specific incidents for 10-14 days after the incident has occurred.

Looking for something else?

Searching for a current inmate?  Looking for recent booking reports?


  1. Use this form to request a specific case file, address check, CAD Notes or 911 calls, booking photos, case photos, video or audio recordings, and other miscellaneous records. Due to a new database system, some previously generated types of reports are no longer available. Please call 970-498-5110 for assistance.

    Release of records is dependent on a variety of circumstances such as, but not limited to, the type of report, status of the investigation, and ages of the individuals involved in the report. Colorado state statutes prohibit the release of certain case reports or information relating to at-risk adults, juveniles, victims of crime, and on-going police investigations. Reports will be reviewed by appropriate personnel to determine if reports can be released. In some instances, the released report may have certain information redacted. Cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee, and $0.25 per page processing fee.


    Do you need a Spanish copy of the Record Request form? Click here.

  2. These provide information on an individual as to when they have been booked in the Larimer County Jail or had charges filed by the Larimer County Sheriff's Office. Records go back to 2005. If no arrest history is located, a letter stating such will be issued.  If a local criminal record exists, the requestor will receive a list of arrests on file with the Larimer County Sheriff.  You must have the person’s first and last name and date of birth.

    Start by filling out this form. The cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee.  The LCSO Records Department does not maintain court dispositions on arrests. If this type of information is required, please contact the Larimer County Court at (970) 498-6100 to request the official case disposition.

    If you require a statewide background check, please contact the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) at (303) 239-4300. A statewide background check can also be ordered through CBI's website.

  3. Inmate files maintained on inmates during their incarceration are available only to the inmate or representative. Information may include, but is not limited to, medical screening, property records, inmate behavior reports, inmate request reports.  This form must be filled out and signature of the inmate notarized. Cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee and $0.25 per page processing fee. 

  4. Medical records maintained on inmates during their incarceration are available only to the inmate or representative. This form must be signed by the inmate. The cost is a $25.00 non-refundable search fee and 25 cents per page processing fee. 

  5. The ordinance requiring alarm registration in Larimer County is no longer in effect as of 2023. More information will be mailed to prior registrants.

  6. Click here to find a copy of the latest fee schedule.


Contact Us

Address: 2501 Midpoint Dr.  Fort Collins, CO  80525
Phone: (970) 498-5110
Fax: (970) 482-8745
Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday - Friday; Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays