CHECKLIST for License Requirements

  1. Pay nonrefundable contractor application fee. Cash, check or credit card. Visa, MC, and Discover are accepted. There is a 2.99% convenience charge for credit cards. Check made out to Larimer County Planning for the amount of:
    • Class “A” License - $150
    • Class “B” License - $125
    • Class “C”License - $100
  2. General Contractor License Application
  3. Provide proof of a passing grade on a current applicable license issued by another county or municipality in the state of Colorado with a letter from that jurisdiction on their letterhead stating the passing grade, type of license, year and model of code tested under. OR provide proof of a passing grade on the applicable International Code Council (“ICC”) exam related to the particular license type being applied for (or its nationally recognized equivalent as determined and approved by the Building Official).
  4. Provide proof of three (3) successfully completed projects by listing three (3) construction projects verified by building permit number on the application and attach copies of the permit and Certificate of Occupancy or final inspection documentation.
    • OR have three (3) completed contractor project verification forms signed by the owners.
    • OR provide proof of two (2) years of experience in your license trade by submitting a letter from previous employer verifying that experience.
  5. Demonstrate a lawful presence in the United States by submitting a completed and signed United States Citizenship Affidavit form that also certify as part of the license application process that you or your company will employ only building subcontractors and workers who have demonstrated to the company a lawful presence in the United States.
    • Driver’s License Photocopy
  6. Provide proof of current insurance coverage
    • Workers' Compensation Insurance as required by the State of Colorado
    • General Liability Insurance provided on an ISO 1998 ( or most current ) Form or equivalent form with a minimum combined single limit for each occurrence of: Class “A”, “B” & “C” General Contractors - $1,000,000.00.
    • Proof of such insurance shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Insurance issued to the County as a Certificate Holder requiring a ten (10) days notice for NON-PAYMENT OF PREMIUM, REDUCTION OF COVERAGE, OR CANCELLATION FOR ANY REASON and providing 30 days advance written notice to the Chief Building Official (at Larimer County Building Department, P.O. Box 1190, Fort Collins, CO. 80522) signed by an authorized agent of the issuing company. In the event the required insurance is revoked, the contractor license is revoked upon such notice.
  1. Pay nonrefundable contractor application fee. Cash, check or credit card. Check made out to Larimer County Planning for the amount of: Special ($75)
  2. Submit completed signed Specialized Trade contractor license application verifying all contractor licenses held in other jurisdictions and if applicable disclosing any adverse action taken under those licenses. Also submit all of the following required supporting documentations:
    • No examination required
    • Provide proof of three (3) successfully completed projects by listing three (3) construction projects verified by building permit number on the applicant form and attach copies of the permit and Certificate of Occupancy or final inspection documentation if in another jurisdiction.
      • OR have three (3) completed contractor project verification forms signed by the owners.
      • OR provide proof of two (2) years of experience in your license trade by submitting a letter from previous employer verifying that experience.
    • Demonstrate a lawful presence in the United States by submitting a completed and signed United States Citizenship Affidavit form that also certify as part of the license application process that you or your company will employ only building subcontractors and workers who have demonstrated to the company a lawful presence in the United States.
      • Driver's License Photocopy
    • Provide proof of current insurance coverage, including:
      • Workers' Compensation Insurance as required by the State of Colorado.
      • General Liability Insurance provided on an ISO 1998 ( or most current ) Form or equivalent form with a minimum combined single limit for each occurrence of: General Liability - $300,000.00
      • Proof of such insurance shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Insurance issued to the County as a Certificate Holder requiring a ten (10) days notice for NON-PAYMENT OF PREMIUM, REDUCTION OF COVERAGE, OR CANCELLATION FOR ANY REASON and providing 30 days advance written notice to the Chief Building Official (at Larimer County Building Department, P.O. Box 1190, Fort Collins, CO. 80522) signed by an authorized agent of the issuing company. In the event the required insurance is revoked, the contractor license is revoked upon such notice.
  1. Pay nonrefundable contractor application fee. Cash, check or credit card. Visa, MC, and Discover are accepted. There is a 2.99% convenience charge for credit cards. Check made out to Larimer County Planning for the amount of: Roofing $75 
  2. Submit completed signed roofing contractor license application verifying all contractor licenses held in other jurisdictions and if applicable disclosing any adverse action taken under those licenses. 
  3. Provide proof of a passing grade on a current applicable license issued by another county or municipality in the state of Colorado with a letter from that jurisdiction on their letterhead stating the passing grade, type of license, year and model of code tested under. OR provide proof of a passing grade on the applicable International Code Council (“ICC”) exam related to the particular license type being applied for (or its nationally recognized equivalent as determined and approved by the Building Official).
  4. Provide proof of three (3) successfully completed projects by listing three (3) construction projects verified by building permit number on the application form and attach copies of the final inspection documentation.
    • OR have three (3) completed contractor project verification forms signed by the owners.
    • OR provide proof of two (2) years of experience in your license trade by submitting a letter from previous employer verifying that experience.
  5. Demonstrate a lawful presence in the United States by submitting a completed and signed United States Citizenship Affidavit form that also certifies as part of the license application process that you or your company will employ only building subcontractors and workers who have demonstrated to the company a lawful presence in the United States.
    • Driver’s License Photocopy
  6. Provide proof of current insurance coverage:
    • Workers’ Compensation Insurance as required by the State of Colorado.
    • General Liability Insurance provided on an ISO 1998 (or most current) Form or equivalent form with a minimum combined single limit for each occurrence of: General Liability - $300,000.00
    • Proof of such insurance shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Insurance issued to the County as a Certificate Holder requiring a ten (10) days notice for NON-PAYMENT OF PREMIUM, REDUCTION OF COVERAGE, OR CANCELLATION FOR ANY REASON and providing 30 days advance written notice to the Chief Building Official (at Larimer County Building Department, P.O. Box 1190, Fort Collins, CO 80522) signed by an authorized agent of the issuing company. In the event the required insurance is revoked, the contractor license is revoked upon such notice.
  1. Pay nonrefundable contractor application fee. Need cash or check (we do not accept credit cards) made out to Larimer County Planning for the amount of: 
    • Mechanical ($75)
    • Gas Piping ($75)
  2. Submit completed signed mechanical contractor license application verifying all contractor licenses held in other jurisdictions and if applicable disclosing any adverse action taken under those licenses. Also submit all of the following required supporting documentations:
  3. Provide proof of a passing grade on a current applicable license issued by another county or municipality in the state of Colorado with a letter from that jurisdiction on their letterhead stating the passing grade, type of license, year and model of code tested under. OR provide proof of a passing grade on the applicable International Code Council (“ICC”) exam related to the particular license type being applied for (or its nationally recognized equivalent as determined and approved by the Building Official).
  4. Provide proof of three (3) successfully completed projects by listing three (3) construction projects verified by building permit number on the applicant form and attach copies of the permit and Certificate of Occupancy or final inspection documentation if in another jurisdiction.
    • OR have three (3) completed contractor project verification forms signed by the owners.
    • OR provide proof of two (2) years of experience in your license trade by submitting a letter from previous employer verifying that experience.
  5. Demonstrate a lawful presence in the United States by submitting a completed and signed United States Citizenship Affidavit form that also certify as part of the license application process that you or your company will employ only building subcontractors and workers who have demonstrated to the company a lawful presence in the United States.
    • Driver's License Photocopy
  6. Provide proof of current insurance coverage, including:
    • Workers' Compensation Insurance as required by the State of Colorado.
    • General Liability Insurance provided on an ISO 1998 ( or most current ) Form or equivalent form with a minimum combined single limit for each occurrence of: Mechanical - $300,000.00
    • Proof of such insurance shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Insurance issued to the County as a Certificate Holder requiring a ten (10) days notice for NON-PAYMENT OF PREMIUM, REDUCTION OF COVERAGE, OR CANCELLATION FOR ANY REASON and providing 30 days advance written notice to the Chief Building Official (at Larimer County Building Department, P.O. Box 1190, Fort Collins, CO. 80522) signed by an authorized agent of the issuing company. In the event the required insurance is revoked, the contractor license is revoked upon such notice.

Please refer to the Contractor Licensing Handout (below) for testing requirements.

Application Forms

Fee Schedule

Contractor Biannual Fee
Class A $150
Class B $125
Class C $100
Specialized Single Trade $75
Roofers $75
Mechanical $75
Plumbing Exempt*
Electrical Exempt*
Mobile Home Installer Exempt*
Elevator/Conveyance Exempt*

*These contractors are required to be licensed/registered by the State of Colorado and need to pay their license/registration fee to the State keeping their license/registration active.