Board Meeting to be held on December 6 at 10am

The December Crime Victim Compensation Board Meeting will be held on Tuesday, December 6th at 10am due to holiday schedules. Meetings will return to their regular schedule beginning in January.

Crime can have a devastating and lasting impact on your finances, which is why the Crime Victim Compensation Act was written into law in 1982. Crime Victim Compensation provides financial assistance to eligible crime victims to lessen the financial burden placed upon them as a result of a crime.

The Crime Victim Compensation Board of the Eighth Judicial District and staff are dedicated to conducting an open, fair, and equitable application and award process for all compensation requests received. Each board member has experience working with crime victims and is familiar with the impact of crime.

Public notice is hereby given pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes 24-6-402 that on the date, at the time, and at the location listed below, a meeting of the Crime Victim Compensation Board will be held. Please direct all inquiries to Candace Smith, CVC Administrator; Telephone - (970) 498-7290.

The Crime Victim Compensation Board meets the second Tuesday of every month at 10:00 am at the District Attorney's Office located at 201 Laporte Ave., Suite 200, Fort Collins, CO 80521, unless otherwise noted.

All person attending CVC Board meeting are required to comply with security screening procedures as directed upon entering the District Attorney Office building and provide their full name to be included in the minutes of the meeting.

To ensure an equitable and fair process for all CVC application, and preserve CVC claim confidentiality pursuant to C.R.S. 24-4.1-107.5, person attending the CVC meetings may only address the CVC Board at a time the Board deems appropriate. If there is a matter you wish the CVC Board to consider, please outline the request or question in writing and submit it no later than the first of the month to the CVC Administrator at the address provided in this notice.  Written requests submitted for CVC Board consideration at a monthly meeting will be deferred to the next scheduled monthly meeting, if received after the first of the month. 

The members of the 8th Judicial District CVC Board, upon affirmative vote of two thirds of the quorum present, may hold an executive session pursuant to the Colorado Open Meeting Law (C.R.S. 24-6-402(4) et seq.) and CVC Bylaws. 

To report a Standards violation, please contact the Division of Criminal Justice, 700 Kipling Street, Suite 1000, Denver, CO 80215 or by phone at 303-239-5719 or 1-888-282-1080 (toll free). To request a copy of CVC policies, procedures, by-laws and/or meeting minutes, please call Candace Smith, CVC Administrator at (970) 498-7290.


The Crime Victim Compensation Board meets monthly to review completed applications. Upon review of the completed application and law enforcement report, the board determines if the victim meets all eligibility requirements. Awards and denials of covered expenses are made during this meeting, and you will be notified of the board decision by mail within 10 business days following the meeting. Please be aware that typical claim processing time is between 30 and 60 days.

If your request is approved, specific documentation is required before any payment can be made. Upon receipt of all required documentation, payment will be made to you and/or the service provider.

If your request is denied, you have specific rights for reconsideration the board decision within 30 days of being notified.

Any crime victim is permitted to submit an application for Crime Victim Compensation funds; however per Colorado law and Victim Compensation Board policy, there is certain criterion that must be met in order to be eligible for Victim Compensation funds which include:

  • Victim must be that of a compensable crime
  • Crime must have occurred on or after July 1, 1982
  • Crime must have been reported to law enforcement within 72 hours
  • Victim must apply for Crime Victim Compensation within one year of the date of the crime
  • Victim must cooperate with law enforcement and/or prosecution team
  • The victim's death or injury was not substantially attributable to the victim's own wrong doing or substantial provocation

Please note: the Victim Compensation Board may waive one or more of these requirements for good cause or in the interest of justice.

Upon claim approval, the following expenses directly related to the crime may be compensated for:

  • Medical expenses
  • Counseling expenses
  • Residential doors, locks, and/or windows
  • Funeral expenses
  • Lost support to dependents of deceased victims
  • Lost wages
  • Household Support or relocation costs

The claim maximum is $30,000; however, there are limitations on specific awards.

Per Colorado law, a compensable crime as defined for Crime Victim Compensation is an intentional, knowing, reckless, or criminally negligent act of a person that results in residential property damage or bodily (physical and/or emotional) injury of another person.

Some examples are provided below; however, this list is not all inclusive, and Crime Victim Compensation may make awards on a case-by-case basis.

  • Domestic assault
  • Assault
  • Sex assault
  • DUI
  • Kidnapping
  • Arson
  • Homicide
  • Burglary/criminal mischief
  • Vehicular assault
  • Vehicular homicide
  • Stalking
  • Robbery
  • Terrorism
  • Careless driving
  • Violation of protection order

If your Victim Compensation claim was denied within the last 30 days, you have the right to request a reconsideration of the board's decision.

Please submit your written request for reconsideration to:

Crime Victim Compensation
201 LaPorte Ave Ste 200
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Fax: (970) 498-7250.

Your request for reconsideration must include new or additional information that was not available to the board for initial consideration.

If, after reconsideration of your claim, the board upholds the claim denial, you have a right to file an appeal in accordance with Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure.

To report a Standards Violation, please contact the Division of Community Justice at:

700 Kipling St Ste 1000
Denver, CO 80215
(303) 239-4493
(888) 282-1080

Thank you for your interest in working with Crime Victim Compensation to serve crime victims of Larimer and Jackson counties. Your compassion and dedication is important to our community. Thank you again for everything you do!

Below are links to downloadable versions of the most up-to-date information and forms.

Questions or Concerns?

Candace Smith, Victim Programs Manager
201 Laporte Ave., Suite 200
Fort Collins, CO 80521-2763
(970) 498-7290