Renewal Kiosk Out of Service

The self-service renewal kiosk located in the King Soopers store at 1842 N College Avenue in Fort Collins is currently out of service. Please visit one of the other kiosk locations or check back here for updates. 

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. 

Citizens of Larimer County have one more way to renew their license plates. 

You can now get duplicate registrations & year tab (license plate decal), and check the status of a title!

Vehicle Renewal Requirements

  1. Your vehicle(s) must be registered in a participating county. See the list below for current information.
  2. Your address must be correct on your renewal notice. 
  3. You must have proof of liability insurance on file.
  4. You must have a valid Vehicle Emission Inspection on file (if applicable).

If you meet all the requirements shown above, you may renew your vehicle registration at a kiosk. 

Transaction Processing Time

The average transaction takes less than two minutes. After a successful renewal, a new registration document and year tab print immediately.  

Payment Options

Accepted payment options include credit or debit cards and personal checks.

Additional Requirements


Scan registration renewal notice or registration form


Enter license plate # + last 8 digits of VIN


Enter full VIN + vehicle date of sale


Enter license plate # + last 8 of VIN
Enter license plate # + verification code


Enter license plate # + last 8 of VIN
Enter license plate # + verification code

Larimer County Locations

  • King Soopers - 1842 N College Avenue, Fort Collins
  • King Soopers - 4503 John F Kennedy Pkwy, Fort Collins
  • King Soopers - 1275 Eagle Drive, Loveland

Visit Colorado MV Express for kiosk locations in other participating Colorado counties.



  1. Simply scan the barcode on your vehicle registration renewal postcard. If you don't have the postcard, you can still renew using your license plate and VIN numbers. Follow the instructions to review your vehicle record, and pay taxes and fees. The machine will print your receipt, registration and year tab on the spot. Just grab your documents and go!

  2. You can renew at a kiosk anytime during your renewal cycle or after the renewal month and your one-month grace period have passed! (However, please note that, by law, a late fee of $25 per month and back ownership taxes will be assessed if you renew after your grace period has expired.)

  3. If you have a vehicle registered in one of the following counties, you can renew at a kiosk.

    Adams Jefferson
    Arapahoe Kit Carson
    Archuletta La Plata
    Boulder Larimer
    Broomfield Logan
    Chaffee Mesa
    Clear Creek Mesa
    Custer Montezuma
    Douglas Park
    Eagle Pueblo
    El Paso Routt
    Fremont Teller
    Garfield Washington
    Gilpin Weld
    Grand Yuma


  4. You can use the kiosk to renew a passenger vehicle, pickup truck, motorcycle, or trailers. It will NOT renew a collector, commercial fleet, dealer, government or taxi/livery vehicle, tow truck, or any disabled veteran specialty license plates.

  5. Please wait at least two business days after getting an emissions test to renew at the kiosk. This allows time for the machine to be updated electronically by testing facilities. The kiosk cannot accept paper proof. Your renewal postcard will indicate if you need proof of emissions. See the emissions information page for more details. 

  6. Please wait 2-4 days after updating your auto insurance to renew at the kiosk. This allows time for your insurance company to provide updated information to our statewide vehicle registration system. The kiosk cannot accept paper proof. Your renewal postcard will indicate if you need proof of insurance. If you have not made recent changes to your insurance coverage, please contact our office at (970) 498-7878, option 5.

  7.  Check, credit or debit card are accepted. Only one method of payment is allowed per transaction. There is a $3.95 service fee for every vehicle renewed at the kiosk. This fee pays for the technology and is not assessed or retained by Larimer County. Additionally, there is a $0.50 convenience fee to pay using a check, or a 2.3% fee to pay via credit or debit card.

  8. Please call ITI Customer Care at 833-939-1592 with any questions about transactions at a kiosk.